Partner of the deceased

To really add emotion to my first feature, I wanted to secure an interview with the partner of Sean Phillips, who sadly died falling into the docks in Bristol.

I had managed to track down his partner on Facebook and was unsure where to go from there. Speaking to my tutor, it was clear the way to go was to simply contact her via the social media website.

Here’s what I wrote:

Hello Hayley,

I’m a trainee journalist at UWE and I am doing an online project around cycling within the city of Bristol. Although it may be hard, I was wondering if you would be willing to talk to me about Sean and how you feel, after this tragedy, that cycling could be improved in Bristol as it is not perfect.

It would be great to meet you or talk to you so you could have your say around the issue and to get the story right. I understand Sean was a keen cyclist and his planned trip to Amsterdam shows a lot.

If you would be interested in talking to me or would like more information, my number is 07989242666 or my email is lcorcoran@me.com. Alternatively, if you pass on your number I can ring you whenever is best.

Condolences,

Liam Corcoran

Sadly, Hayley had not seen the message so I did not get a response.

UPDATE: Here is what I wrote about the issue on Wannabe Hacks.

Leave a Reply

